OSHA Training and “Drivers” – are They “Invisible Employees?”

A colleague sent me a link to a blog article titled; “OSHA Training: The “Invisible” Employees”.  It got me wondering whether company drivers are so-called invisible employees when it comes to being included in all types of OSHA mandated training….

Here’s an excerpt of the original article:

Hello – can you see me? I must be invisible when it comes to OSHA training. Or maybe I am just exempt from all safety training regulations? Surely not!

I mean, if there was a fire or explosion in our building, I am curious to know what the company expects me to do. Is there some kind of alarm or signal to warn us to evacuate, or a place where I am expected to assemble? How would they know I got out safely? I wonder, but yet I have never been trained about this sort of thing.

And if a nearby co-worker suffered a heart attack or other serious medical emergency, I am not sure exactly how I should react. Does our company have a procedure in place? Maybe I just call an ambulance? Does anyone here know first aid or CPR? I have no idea, as our company’s safety manager never trained me about this sort of thing either. And while I’m at it, what am I supposed to do if a tornado is reported to be headed in our direction? Do I go get in my car and drive away? Or crawl under a table somewhere? I don’t know what the company expects of me, as I have never been instructed on what to do in this situation, either. I guess maybe I’m on my own.

The posting continues on offering additional scenarios covering potential injury/illness generators that may not be fully addressed unless “all” employees are fully trained on a regular basis.

So does the fact that most drivers stay out of the manufacturing plant (in, say, a private fleet operation), keep them from getting all the training that in-plant workers receive?  What if they have reason to transit the production floor to visit HR or attend a safety committee meeting?

Leave a Reply

